Connecticut Mandated Reporter

  • Connecticut mandated reports can be arrested if they fail to report suspected child abuse or neglect.
  • Teachers, nurses, doctors and therapists are mandated reporters in Connecticut.
  • If one of these mandated reporters fails to report suspected child abuse or neglect, they can be criminally charged with a misdemeanor or felony in Connecticut.
  • The seriousness of the charge depends on what the reporter knew at time of arrest.
  • If you’ve been arrested for failing to report child abuse or neglect to Connecticut DCF, call a top defense lawyer today to begin working towards a positive resolution.

Is Failure to Report a Felony?

Yes it can be. Under C.G.S. § 17a-101(b)) failure to report is a Class E felony if any of the following occurred:

  • The failure to report is a subsequent violation.
  • The failure to report was willful, intentional, or due to gross negligence.
  • The person had actual knowledge that a child was abused or neglected.

If the above does not apply, then it’s a Class A misdemeanor. The maximum penalty for a Connecticut mandated reporter who fails to report is 1 year in jail and a fine of up to $2,000.00. The social stigma of a criminal arrest or conviction can far outlast the criminally imposed sanctions. Failing to report could adversely affect your current and future job prospects.

Who is a Mandated Reporter?

Connecticut law designates many people as mandated reporters of child abuse and neglect. This list includes, but is not limited to, daycare providers, dentists, physicians, school employees, coaches of intramural athletics, members of the clergy, and police.

When Must a Connecticut Mandated Reporter Report Abuse or Neglect?

These people must remain alert during their jobs to look for signs of child abuse and neglect. These reports must be made to the Department of Children and Families, the department charged with safeguarding children in the State of Connecticut. If you suspect there is child abuse or neglect occurring, you must make an oral report within 12 hours and then a written report within 48 hours. If you fail to do so, you can be arrested for failure to report child abuse or neglect.

How Can a DCF Lawyer Help?

An attorney can help you to gather evidence and proof early on that there was no reasonably basis for you to think the child in question was suffering from abuse or neglect. This could include photos, witness statements, and even notes you may have from your job.

If the case will not get dropped, a lawyer can help you explore your other options for dismissal. Connecticut has a number of pre-trial diversionary programs that could end with your case being dismissed.

Even after a dismissal or conviction an attorney could help you in securing a pardon or having the internet scrubbed of posts about your arrest. To learn more, reach out today.

Reach Out to a Connecticut Mandated Reporter Attorney

When your freedom, future, and career are on the line it is important to have someone in your corner zealously advocating for your rights. Read our hundreds of certified reviews to get an idea of how a Connecticut mandated reporter lawyer can help, and then call us today.

Client Reviews


I found Mark Sherman after doing an extensive search for DCF attorneys on the internet. He is without a doubt the most honest and straightforward attorney I have ever met. Rather than trying to push us towards an expensive engagement...

- Robert E
Submit a Law Firm Client Review